top of page

Author Field Notes: Book Trailer


Before I started writing "Beasts," I had this weird image in my head of a beekeeper standing over a glowing bee box in the middle of the night. It was that image that inspired me to write "Beasts," so I thought it would be the perfect scene to include in my book trailer.

Columbus Metro Parks was nice enough to let us shoot at one of their parks on a beautiful May evening. I used to work on indie films, so it was fun to get to do that again and hang out with people I used to be on set with. Luckily, the weather was about as nice as you can get in central Ohio, and the shoot went smoothly.

A big thanks goes out to Jon Ebright for the excellent camera work, Dan Kiely for being an "extraordinary" beekeeper, Max Groah for taking on the role of human fog machine, Tiffany Arnold for the conversation, Jas Lang for the bee box construction, and the man behind all those cool fireflies, Max Eberle.

While we're on the subject of fireflies, I saw something really cool in my neighborhood the other night: hundreds of fireflies all tucked into the branches of trees, blinking in a semi-synchronized way. I've never seen so many fireflies in one place all blinking at the same time like that. I'm guessing it was some kind of mating ritual or something like that, but it sure looked like magic to me.

Oh, and one more note: my book doesn't come out for another 3.5 months, but if you're interested in preordering a copy, head over to my author page!

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page