top of page

Author Field Notes: Cover Reveal and Website!

I imagine that for most authors, seeing your finished cover for the first time has to got to be the most anticipated part of the publishing process (other than the actual pub date, of course). As much as we readers like to claim we don’t judge books by their covers, WE DO, or at least, I do. Personally, I think synopses should tell you what the book is about, and covers tell you how it should make you feel.

So, how does my cover make me feel?

Fantastic! It's exactly what I wished it would be: simple, magical, and folksy all at the same time. It tells a story without revealing too much. In fact, it’s what it doesn’t show that truly captures the spirit of the book itself. Beasts is about finding extraordinary things in ordinary places, and the way the fireflies float up from the bottom of the frame into the night sky suggests that there's something at the bottom of the tree that we’re not seeing. Something magical, maybe?

Anyway, I couldn't be happier with how it turned out and I owe the team at St. Martin's a big thank you. Hopefully, the readers like it, too!

Also, I just launched my official author website! You can check it out at www.ruthemmielang.com or follow the link on my home page.

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page